Apera Performance Duffel Review

by Her Happy Balance on June 30, 2014

When I started going to the gym before work, I learned reallllly quickly how important it is to have a quality gym bag. You have lots and lots of things to tote around with you when you need to shower at the gym. And for the record, so many people have asked me what it’s like to shower at the gym, and honestly, it really is not that bad. Just remember your flip-flops, people!

Anyway, back to gym bags…

I haul around my life in my gym bag. So I knew I needed a gym bag that was big and had quality zippers that wouldn’t break at the teeniest sign of stress. Enter the Apera Performance Duffel Bag

Apera Performance Duffel Review

I am now convinced that I cannot live without this bag. My only concern when ordering it was that it wouldn’t be big enough to hold all of my junk, but it magically fits everything I need in it. It’s like a Mary Poppin’s bag but for fitness freaks 😉 The man friend says the bag is as big as me when I have it all filled up, but when it’s not stuffed to the gills, I could see how it could easily double as a carry on bag for plane rides.

Now, let’s talk about all the specifications…

Apera Duffel Bag

It’s made from antimicrobial material so no gnarly sweat-induced gym germs can grow <– so important! It has two ventilated zipper pockets to hold shoes. I can fit two women’s size 9 sneakers on each side of it. It is SO nice not to have to put sweaty gym shoes or shower flip-flops inside the bag where I keep my clothing and towels. The bag also comes with a smaller zipper bag for you to store sweaty gym clothing inside of. From someone who was using a plastic GAP bag for this purpose in the past, I have to say that this is a super nice amenity. The bottom of the duffel is made from a waterproof material in case you accidentally stick it on a wet floor which is a nice feature. And it is loaded up with pockets. There’s a pocket that could store a tablet, pockets on the top of the bag to store eyewear, pockets for water bottles, pockets inside the bag, pockets everywhere! It makes the organizational freak inside of me rejoice.

Apera Performance Duffel

Finally one feature I had no idea I would love is the padded shoulder strap. A bag full of junk can get kind of heavy. It’s nice to have cushioning on the shoulder to keep the strap from biting into my shoulder.

Apera Duffel Bag

Apera is currently running an anniversary discount sale for the entire month of July where you can get 20% off ALL of their bags. And if you choose to purchase a blue bag in any style, they are currently 40% off, which is quite a steal IMHO. Now for the extra fun part, Apera hosts a giveaway on their site each month for one of their bags, you can enter that giveaway here 🙂

Thoughts??
What is one thing that you always, always have in your gym bag? My locker lock and extra socks. 
Showering at the gym – yea or nay?

FTC: I was gifted a duffel bag to facilitate this review. No other compensation was provided. As always, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Runner Girl Eats June 30, 2014 at 6:20 am

This looks like a great bag! I currently use a drawstring bag from a race as my gym bag so this would def be a step up. Love all the pockets!

Her Happy Balance June 30, 2014 at 2:26 pm

I was using a drawstring bag from shopping at the Under Armour outlet so I feel you on that one, girl! Maybe it’s time for an upgrade…Christmas in July gift?;)

Chelsea @ A Fit LittleOne June 30, 2014 at 9:56 am

I’ve never actually seen the size of this bag on a person, and oh M gee! That bag is huge on you! And I wouldn’t mind showering at the gym if it made life in the morning a little easier. Deodorant!! I’m constantly forgetting deodorant hahaha don’t tell anyone this.

Shelly June 30, 2014 at 10:39 am

I’ve heard of Apera bags before, but have yet to see one true to size. Chelsea is right, it’s pretty dang big. But, that’s exactly what I need. I CrossFit and therefore need a ridiculous amount of crap with me at all times. I may just have to put that 20% discount to use, thanks!

Her Happy Balance June 30, 2014 at 2:27 pm

It is such a great size and the only bag that I’ve found that can hold two beach towels, two pairs of shoes, clothes, a make-up bag, sunscreen, water bottles, etc. And I think you should totally take advantage of the discount 😉 But then again, I’m a shopaholic – oops!

Her Happy Balance June 30, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Haha! Okay Chelsea, I won’t tell 😉 And yes, the bag is definitely pretty big but that is exactly what I wanted to haul all of my junk around in 🙂

Emilie June 30, 2014 at 11:34 am

I love that you took a picture with the bag to give a good idea of it’s actual size. It looks like an awesome bag! I’m currently using a cinch bag I got at one of my half marathons to take into the gym with me (holds my wallet, keys, headphones, antibacterial gel, etc.) and a duffel bag I got at work to carry my gym clothes to work with me if I’m heading to the gym at the end of the day. I try to go in the morning if I can, but I always stop home to shower because it’s in the opposite direction of the gym and I have to pass by my apartment anyway. I used to shower at the gym when I was in college and also working because it was a time saver and I didn’t mind it at all.

Her Happy Balance June 30, 2014 at 2:30 pm

That is so nice that you get to shower at home before work…it definitely saves you from hauling around a bunch of essentials! And I don’t really mind the showers at the gym too much, mostly because there is always one or two to choose from that are just fine, but every once in a while the person that showered before me will leave their hair all over the shower stall and it kind of grosses me out. Aside from that, the biggest pain is just being preparing and having everything packed and ready to go in the morning.

Nicole @ Simply Nicole June 30, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Love that bag! Super cute too! Every time I find a good gym bag it’s so manly looking. Glad this one is pink 🙂

Her Happy Balance July 1, 2014 at 12:22 pm

The pink color was definitely one of my favorite features 😉

Stacie @ SimplySouthernStacie June 30, 2014 at 5:51 pm

How cute is that gym bag!! Mine is just an ugly old black one – which is probably why I never use it.

Showering at the gym majorly creeps me out. I have to be in a desperate situation to use one.

Her Happy Balance July 1, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Showering at the gym is not my favorite thing in the world, but I feel as though I have mastered a system to make it as least gross as possible lol…at least that’s what I’m telling myself 😉

Stephanie @ My Freckled Life July 1, 2014 at 12:52 pm

I need one of these in my life! I’ve been using a Victoria’s secret bag (you know, one of those that they give you when you spend WAY too much money there?), but it doesnt have any pockets or anything and gets sparkles everywhere. So I definitely need to consider investing in a better quality bag!

Her Happy Balance July 2, 2014 at 9:33 am

LOL I definitely know the bags you speak of…I have quite a few of those myself…oops 🙂 It’s so cute that you leave a trail of glitter wherever you workout, too funny! 🙂 Maybe you its time for an upgrade #treatyoself!

Kim July 1, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Ah I need a new gym bag so bad!!!! Zippers all broken, strap broke…Might need to invest in a good one 🙂

Her Happy Balance July 2, 2014 at 9:34 am

Yes, totally do it! I was definitely where you are, I literally didn’t even have a zipper anymore and would just stuff into an open bag. I feel much more organized and together with a better bag. It’s an investment, but in my opinion it is worth it.

Previous post:

Next post: