Blue Sage Vegetarian Grille Review

by Her Happy Balance on May 2, 2013

Two nights ago, I had the great pleasure of having dinner at a wonderful restaurant with a wonderful friend. Blue Sage Grille is a small, local restaurant that always packs a big punch into their veggie-only plates. Β It’s a hidden gem that you could easily drive by…but I suggest you make the excellent decision to turn into the parking lot πŸ™‚ You know a restaurant is good when you need to make reservations for a late dinner on a Tuesday night!

From start to finish, we had a fantastic time. When we walked in, the atmosphere was very upbeat, as almost all the tables were full and patrons were busy chatting and eating away. The waitstaff was extremely friendly, and the service was good. The menu offered a wide range of gourmet treats, catering to the vegan and dairy-free diner as well. After placing our order, we were given a basket of bread and a yummy white bean spread…at least I think it was a white bean spread. What exactly it was the world may never know, but I can tell you that it was delicious.

IMG_2363

We chose to share an appetizer of the Adobo Goat Cheese Nachos and the presentation was definitely picture worthy. So many colors and the pepper was a great topper to the dish!

IMG_2364

The nachos were also super filling because we were served such a huge portion! We did some serious damage though, and only spared two measly tortilla chips for a trip back to the kitchen. When our entrees arrived, the diners next to us oogled our pretty food and insisted we take pictures of the meals before diving in…so like a good little blogger/blogger’s friend, we did. For dinner I chose the dhal, here was the menu description:

Dhal (with condiments): red lentils, butternut squash, and leeks in pasilla chile-coconut house curry. Served with spicy tandoori tomato chutney, mango papaya relish, and savory corn fritters.

IMG_2365

And when they say “with condiments” they actually meant to say comes with a second meal.Β Here are the condiments:

IMG_2366

SO MUCH FOOD. I ate about five spoons worth of the dhal and a couple of the fritters and had to call it quits. I had the rest packed as leftovers, and I have at least two full-sized lunches worth of dhal and condiments to enjoy later. Overall, my meal was very good, however it was tad too sweet. Β I was hoping for something slightly spicier, but you could tell the quality of the ingredients they used was very fresh. In fact, when I asked the server if my meal would be spicy, she said it differs from day to day as the chef makes a fresh batch daily. Oh and the corn fritters…they were awesome! Not greasy, or too doughy. They were just right.

My dinner date ordered a classy version of raman noodles, or as she likes to say “ray-man” noodles. Her dish was loaded with noodles (of course!), veggies, tofu in a crunchy grain coating, a frothed veggie broth and an egg on top! Her dish was delicious.

IMG_2368

I love that both of our dishes were garnished with pretty spring flower petals! So creative and they must also be edible because I forgot to remove mine…

The food is a bit pricey, but you’re paying for quality; and the portions are more than generous. Although I probably won’t order my dish again, I will definitely go back. The desserts sounded amazing (salted butterscotch pudding or reconstructed blueberry cobbler anyone?) and we were just too full to partake in that fun. So I know that pudding has my name on it for my next visit!

*I was not compensated in any way for this review, all thoughts and opinions are my own*

Thoughts??

Do any of you carnivores out there like to try vegetarian/vegan restaurants also?

What’s your favorite meat-free dinner option?

Do you always save room for dessert?

 

Comments on this entry are closed.

De @ Cooking for the Other Half May 2, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Hey girl! Just wanted to let you know that you’re the winner of the Temerity Jewelry Victory Necklace Giveaway! — http://cookingfortheotherhalf.com/2013/05/02/notes-from-the-universe-and-giveaway-winner/

Yay! πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a great day!

Her Happy Balance May 2, 2013 at 1:33 pm

I’m having a great day, now! Haha πŸ™‚ Thanks, De!

Meghan May 2, 2013 at 1:59 pm

My beautiful bloggie bestie,
My mouth is watering after reading this post this morning. Indian food flavors are my all time favorite and that dish you ordered looks so flavorful and colorful. That bread + spread thing is also making a very hungry girl. I love that the condiments are totally a second meal. This place sounds divine and I need to find something similar around here. Nachos? YES PLEASE. I guess I’m hungry this morning. πŸ™‚
-Your bloggie bestie
P.S. We are in a virtual fight because that cookie butter has stolen my soul. Thank you so much bye bye. πŸ™‚

Her Happy Balance May 2, 2013 at 8:17 pm

First of all, you are TOO cute. Love the layout of this comment πŸ˜‰ I”ll have to write you a note soon! Haha. And the nachos were creamy, cheesy deliciousness. I thoroughly gorged myself on them and couldn’t eat dinner. My mother would not be pleased.

And: now, now let’s not fight! Let’s be happy bloggy fwends πŸ™‚ Seriously, you can hate me for introducing you to cookie butter now, but when you’re feeling crappy and remember that you have a jar of love in your pantry and it makes you feel better you will love me again. At least that’s what I’m counting on!

Brittany May 2, 2013 at 3:57 pm

What a cool spot! I love finding hidden gems like this. I’m all over vegan restaurants, πŸ˜‰ I don’t always save room for dessert, but if it’s to die for I’ll get it to go!

Her Happy Balance May 2, 2013 at 8:19 pm

I don’t know why I never thought of the genius idea of getting dessert to go! This has been noted! Haha πŸ™‚

meredith May 2, 2013 at 4:36 pm

There is ALWAYS room for dessert. The trick is to make sure whoever you are dining with becomes too full – that way you don’t have to share.

Her Happy Balance May 2, 2013 at 8:20 pm

LOL! You are too funny with the “no sharing food” thing. I’ll have to remember to urge my dinner mate to go ahead and get that extra appetizer before their meal so I can indulge later…muah ha ha!

Rachel @ Undercover Diva: A Sitcom May 2, 2013 at 5:09 pm

I have yet to find an all vegetarian restaurant! I would LOVE to, though, because I always feel weird modifying menu items to fit my dietary needs. My favorite meat free item is probably eggplant parmesan or veggie burrito bowls. I like all vegetarian foods! I don’t often get dessert at a restaurant, but when I’m at Disney World, dessert is always ordered.

Her Happy Balance May 2, 2013 at 8:23 pm

When you’re at Disney World it’s okay to splurge on pretty much everything πŸ™‚ I took a trip there once and had a really good meal plan so when I went out to dinner and ordered my meal, sometimes the server would ask “do you want a lobster tail with that?” and it was free, so of course I said yes! And I can understand not wanting to modify the menu. I think making vegetarian options more desirable on menus has started to take off more though. You’re not always stuck with veggie lasagna anymore which is a plus. I hope you scope out a veggie-only place near you soon! πŸ™‚

Chelsea @ LittleOneRuns May 2, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Mmmm that food looks so good!! And I’m not usually a fan of vegetarian food lol. Sometimes I save room for dessert, if it’s something I like and can’t live without I defiantly do!

Her Happy Balance May 2, 2013 at 8:18 pm

I never thought I’d be much into the vegetarian dishes either but going to this restaurant had me thinking twice! And it’s good to treat yourself to dessert every now again πŸ™‚

Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen May 2, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Oh these foods look so good, especially the nachos! That’s cool you tried out a vegetarian place. I’m not a vegetarian but I love the meals. I’ll have to remember to pair goat cheese with nachos!

Her Happy Balance May 3, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Yeah, I’m not a veg head either, I just really like their food! I’ve only recently started liking goat cheese and it was so creamy and delicious, you must try it!

bezzymates May 2, 2013 at 9:28 pm

I love colorful platters. The food looks so much tastier. Those goat cheese nachos would definitely be something I would order. My sister makes a great vegetable lasagna. It is so good loaded with veggies and cheese, I don’t miss the meat at all.

Her Happy Balance May 3, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Colorful food DOES taste better πŸ˜‰ And have your sister send some Italian goodness my way? Please and thank you!

Jessie May 3, 2013 at 4:07 am

Girl this place looks incredible! Where exactly is it located? I’m totally going to drag Joshua there w/ me if we visit the states in September!!!!

Her Happy Balance May 3, 2013 at 12:51 pm

It’s in the suburbs of Philly πŸ™‚ Shoot me an email when/if he gets to visit the states and I”ll give you the whole low-down!

Kristina May 3, 2013 at 5:22 am

Goat cheese nachos? You managed to make me hungry when I’m still full from dinner! Actually, everything looks really good. I’m secretly hoping I make it out to Philly now πŸ˜‰

I don’t think I’ve ever once in my entire life passed up dessert. Nope. Sorry. Against my religion!

Her Happy Balance May 3, 2013 at 12:52 pm

You have a great religion, where can I join up? Haha πŸ˜‰ And I think it’s fair to say that the coat cheese nachos were the highlight of that entire meal…as nachos usually are πŸ™‚

Previous post:

Next post: