Chocolate Chip Cookie Pizza Recipe & Picky Bar Review

by Her Happy Balance on July 17, 2013

A litte while back I did a guest blog post for De over at Cooking for the Other Half where I shared one of my go-to dessert recipes. And just in case you missed it, and you need a super easy and super delicious dessert (I won’t say it’s super healthy, oops!) go on and check out my recipe for chocolate chip cookie pizza!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Pizza

I also wanted to share a new bar I found a little while back while perusing a running store called Picky Bar! So what is great about this bar, is that it was actually developed by three athletes (we’re talking triathletes and pro-marathoners) looking to create a quality bar that was gluten-free! Now, I don’t actually have a gluten allergy, but I am all about trying to keep my gluten levels at a minimum. So here’s what I thought:

Picky bars

Pros:

  • Gluten-free
  • Non-GMO
  • Most ingredients are organic (60% or more)
  • “Perfect” ratio of carbs to protein (4:1) – i.e., not too much protein, more focused on carbs for recovery and fuel. That being said, each bar still has 7g of protein for all you muscle maniacs 😉
  • No Artificial Sweeteners
  • No Preservatives. The only ingredient that is included in the bar that can help shelf life is natural Vitamin E.
  • Comes in four flavors! Two of the four flavored bars are 100% vegan and one is free of nuts for those with nut allergies.
  • 200 calories or less

    Cons:

  • I’ve only seen the bars in speciality athletic stores, so they may be slightly difficult to find…
  • A little pricey, about $2.30-$2.50 a bar

    I’d like to also add that Picky Bar’s taste good 😉 I’m not a fan of the “Smooth Caffeinator” flavor as I don’t like coffee, so I will be giving that one to a coffee drinking friend, but the others were delicious! I particularly liked “Lauren’s Mega Nuts” as it has organic peanut butter, almonds, and cashews in it.

    Thoughts??
    Whats your go-to dessert recipe?
    Have you ever tried or heard of Picky Bars before?
    Whats your favorite flavor bar? Or which would you like to try most?

    FTC: I was given a variety pack of Picky Bars to try, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

  • Comments on this entry are closed.

    Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures July 17, 2013 at 8:20 am

    Ohhh yummy Lesleeee that pie looks gluttonous for sure… Haha, I would devour it in moments. 🙂
    I’m okay with the name of this bar, but bars to me are too thick and rich. I’ve never found one that I can thoroughly enjoy without feeling like I’m forcing myself to eat it.
    My go to dessert recipe is fingers + cookie butter, of course, because it requires no time. Otherwise it’s store bought cookie dough for me! Have a super fabulous and wonderful Wednesday my beautiful bloggy friend! 🙂

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:48 am

    It is pretty gluttonous…oops 🙂 You might like the picky bar, it’s not too thick I don’t think. As for taste, I mean it is made up of really healthy ingredients all mushed together…so it tastes like a bar. It’s good though, it had some crunch in there with the nuts so that was my favorite part. Cookie butter + fingers + Parks&Rec = my friday night. I’m good with it, I’ve accepted it 🙂 I’m all about store-bought doughs – ain’t no body got time to make their own!

    Jenn July 17, 2013 at 9:21 am

    ahhh that pizza cookie brings back so many memories! In high school I had a class mate who would bring one in every time we had a bake sale!

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:49 am

    Sounds like me and your high school classmate would get along 😉 Man I miss bake sale days…wish they had 50 cent homemade cookies available at my workplace, instead of $2 vending machine junk!

    Beth @ Mangoes and Miles July 17, 2013 at 9:47 am

    I’ve heard of Picky Bars and I’ve been wanting to try them as a healthier alternative to Clif Bars which I typically fuel with! Where did you find them? I can’t find them in any of the athletic stores near me and I don’t like buying food online because you usually have to buy a lot to make the shipping worth it but I don’t want to buy a ton of something that I may not like or that doesn’t work for me…I’d definitely love to try these at some point though.

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:51 am

    I saw them at the Philadelphia Runner Store. The company is still small, so I think they aren’t in many of the big stores yet. Hopefully soon though! Try going to your local running store, they may have more specialized products.

    Sasha July 18, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Hi Beth!

    I work at Picky Bars. I know we can be tricky to find, but the bars are well worth the search! You can find Picky Bars at REI. Check out their store locator here: http://www.rei.com/map/store

    Best,
    Sasha

    Rebekah @ fitnesscrEATures July 17, 2013 at 9:53 am

    Ok, that cookie pizza looks wayyyyy better than the Nutella pizza we had on Meghan’s bday. Am I allowed to be mad at you for not making that while you were down here?? 🙂 I like the idea of that bar. I’ll have to look into it further to see if I can maybe use that during our half marathon coming up. It would be a nice alternative to the straight up raisins I used last time. That is all for now. Have a glorious day. Love, Igor Gru.

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:53 am

    Dear Igor Gru,
    Not gonna lie…it is better than the Nutella hipster pizza (although that was delicious, too!) The thing is it is so rich you can only have one piece at a time, which is probably a good thing. And straight up raisins sounds pretty blah. We got to upgrade your half marathon snack, stat!
    Love,
    One of your minions

    Chelsea @ LittleOneRuns July 17, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Go to dessert is always a smoothie, preferably a creamy banana chocolate one 🙂
    Mmmm I’ve been wanting to try Picky Bars, but like you said, they are hard to find, and I’ve NEVER seen them anywhere lol. I really want to find the coffee one now though…

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:54 am

    Can you believe I have actually never had a chocolate banana smoothie! Come and make me one? Pretty please?

    Sasha July 18, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Hi Chelsea!

    I work at Picky Bars. I know we can be tricky to find, but the bars are well worth the search! You can find Picky Bars at REI. Check out their store locator here: http://www.rei.com/map/store

    Best,
    Sasha

    Lauren July 17, 2013 at 11:00 am

    My go-to recipe is homemade brownies or chocolate chip cookies! I got a Picky Bar in the mail for one of those monthly subscription boxes but have yet to try it because I’m not really an athlete or any sort haha! I think I got the almond one!

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:55 am

    Yay for homemade treats! Wanna come and make me some of your brownies? 🙂 And yeah, I only allow myself the bars after I’ve done some sort of exercise. But they would be great to keep in your purse for when you are starving and no food is in sight!

    Nicole @ Fruitnfitness July 17, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    When I was younger my mom would always bring a huge cookie into school on my birthday to share with my classmates, to this day I still love giant cookies! I love coffee so I’m sure I would like the coffee flavor.

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:56 am

    My mom did the same exact thing! 🙂 She would decorate it with a bunch of colorful icing too, the good ol’ days!

    Hannah @ CleanEatingVeggieGirl July 17, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    I would be allll over that almond bar! I am a bit obsessed with all things almond-related right now.

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:57 am

    The almond one is delicious, you must try one 🙂 Have you hopped on the Blue Diamond flavored almond train? They have some awesome flavor options.

    Caitlin July 17, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Ok most mouth watering blog post title ever 🙂 definitely checking that out…my go to desserts are usually cookies and cream brownies or frozen skinny pb pie both of which are from sally…what can I say? Girl knows her sweets 😉

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:57 am

    Kudos to you and Sally for your impressive dessert-making skills! I would happily take a batch or five of those cookie and cream brownies!

    Becky @ Olives n Wine July 17, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    I know I’ve tried these before but I can’t remember where! I don’t even remember if I liked them, haha – I am sure I did because I’m a carbo-holic 😉

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:58 am

    I wish carbs were as healthy as fruit and veggies because I sure can down a big ol’ bowl of creamy, cheesy pasta like a champ! 😉

    Jess @ JessieBear What Will You Wear? July 17, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    Ohhh man I want that cookie pizza!!!

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 10:59 am

    It’s super easy to make 🙂 20 minutes and 4 ingredients is all it takes!

    Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen July 17, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    A chocolate chip cookie pizza sounds fabulous. I’d say my go-to dessert is anything with chocolate…chocolate brownies, chocolate chip cookies, chocolate… 😉

    Her Happy Balance July 18, 2013 at 11:00 am

    Well your love of chocolate is pretty convenient considering your blog title 😉 You can make some chocolate chip cookies any day of the week!

    Jessie July 18, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    I’ve never heard of Picky Bar’s before, but they sound great. Will have to go check out their site. Thanks for the review!

    { 1 trackback }

    Previous post:

    Next post: