Demo Diaries: U by Kotex Sponsored Review

by Her Happy Balance on September 4, 2013

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to switch lives with a member of the opposite sex? Being a guy for one day might be an interesting experience, but I think we women won the gender lottery. I love being a girl and all the perks that come along with it. For instance, it is perfectly acceptable for us to go on “retail therapy” sprees. A good hair day always guarantees us a great day. And we all know that there is nothing quite like the secret magic that goes down during a girls’ night. But being a female also means we have that dreaded week each month that tends to throw our lives into a tizzy. Well, it really doesn’t have to be that way.

U by Kotex tampons

Finding the right type of protection is pretty key to leading a normal and uninterrupted life during your period. I did the demo, and tried out the U by Kotex Sleek brand tampons. Nobody wants to slow down just because they have their period. With Kotex, I was able to enjoy running in a beachy 5k down the shore. I felt worry free knowing Kotex had my back. In fact, my period was the last thing on my mind that day. I was just concerned with running my best race and focusing on my breathing.

Guts & Glory finish line

We’ve come a long way from the days of cardboard tampon applicators and bulky packaging. Luckily, Kotex tampons are sleek in size and can easily fit into a clutch or purse so you’ll never have to worry about being without protection. The wrapper also doesn’t scream “tampon” as it is black and relatively discreet. As for the tampon itself, it has a no slip grip so there is no awkward fumbling around. It doesn’t hurt that it comes in a fun purple color, too. It’s the little things, people. I prefer regular, unscented protection, but these come in other absorbencies to meet every woman’s needs.

U by Kotex

You can request your own U by Kotex free sample here and learn more about U by Kotex through Facebook and Twitter.

I wrote this review while participating in a content series through Clever Girls Collective on behalf of U by Kotex, and received products to facilitate my post and compensation for my time to participate.

Thoughts??

Have you ever tried U by Kotex brand tampons?

Have you ever had to run a race with your period?

Do you get any funky food cravings during your time of the month?

Comments on this entry are closed.

Holly @ EatGreatBEGreat September 4, 2013 at 8:30 am

Great review! I’ve never tried U by Kotex, but I’ve been looking for another brand to try out because I’m not happy with mine. I think these fit the bill. Thanks!

Her Happy Balance September 6, 2013 at 8:54 am

Sure thing! 🙂 It’s never fun to not like a product like that.

Chelsea @ A Fit LittleOne September 4, 2013 at 9:11 am

I pretty much crave everything carb related, and also froyo and lots and lots of chocolate. My boyfriend knows, he always asks if I want to go get froyo, or if I need chocolate, he has learned 🙂 I’ve never tried U by Kotex, I use Playtex Sports. I might just need to try it though, just to see which is better 🙂 I’ve never ran a race, and I honestly don’t think I could. My period, makes me feel like I have the flu, so I know it wouldn’t be a very enjoyable race hahaha.

Her Happy Balance September 6, 2013 at 8:55 am

I crave lots of salty things, bring on the chocolate covered pretzels!

Charlotte @ Commitness to Fitness September 4, 2013 at 11:54 am

ugh i have done everything with my period-run, work, play, frolic, etc- bc i have the period that just wont quit. like you hear some ppl being all “oh i just get mine for 3 days and i barely need tampons” um NOPE. i get mine for like a week. and food cravings? its like im pregnant every 28 days 🙂

Her Happy Balance September 6, 2013 at 8:57 am

Right?! I loathe those 3-day people!

Rebekah @ fitnesscreatures September 4, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Yes I have! They’re great 🙂 I’m glad you like them and I’ll now be thinking about you every time I’m in the tampon aisle, so you can now look forward to that thought. Your labor day weekend looks amazing, too by the way. I don’t think I really get weird food cravings, but I usually allow myself the first day of my period (when I feel like absolute shit and want to throw up every 5 minutes) to eat a bunch of crap because I can validate it pretty easily with the way I’m feeling. Ahh being a girl. Ugh, not! Guys have it so much easier, but I agree, I think we won the gender lottery in at least more than a few ways. I miss youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (It’s sad that this math always trips me up.)

Her Happy Balance September 6, 2013 at 8:58 am

LOL, please do NOT think of me when purchasing those. Instead, think of me when eating hot wings and when you see adorable pandas please 🙂 I miss you to, I. Gru! Let’s play again sooooon 🙂

Rachel @ Undercover Diva: A Sitcom September 4, 2013 at 2:24 pm

I have tried U by Kotex and I wasn’t overly wowed by them. They worked, but it wasn’t anything special and it was a little pricer for me. I just buy generic brand now and they work just fine 🙂 I ran a half marathon with my period. I felt like crap when I started, but exercise always makes me feel so much better, so I didn’t die. I always want salt and chocolate. I could seriously lick a block of salt during my period and be happy. If that’s weird, I don’t want to be normal.

Her Happy Balance September 6, 2013 at 8:59 am

I am a salt craver too! It is delicious and I want it all day. All the salt!

meredith September 4, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Thankfully I have yet to run with my period. I haven’t tried these tampons, usually use Tampax pearl, or now the radiant although lately nothing is working well – if you know what I mean lol.

Her Happy Balance September 6, 2013 at 9:00 am

Ugh, that is the worst. Good luck finding something that works for you. And lucky you for never running a race with it, it wasn’t ideal but it didn’t end up being a big deal.

Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures September 4, 2013 at 9:28 pm

I hate to be a Debbie Downer over here, but I have tried these… and FAIL to these all the way. I can’t decide if I should comment my true feelings or save my hate-orade for another day…. But to sum it up – I hated these. I do love the cuteness of the packaging but that was about it. They were too difficult for me to use to I pawned them off onto a friend, who fortunately, already LOVED the product. I must be a dummy when it comes to these things.
I like the other Kotex lines much better, also Pearl! 🙂 My funky food cravings are GREASE! LOL but also I think I get super emotional like WHOA right before. I’ll take it, I gotta prove I’m a human one way or another, right?

Her Happy Balance September 6, 2013 at 9:01 am

Lol we are all about truth and honesty up in here! And I will make sure to ship you monthly supplies of grease from now on… because we’re close like that. Lub yew panda butt!

Beth Sheridan @sugarcoatedsheridans September 5, 2013 at 9:56 am

I am STUCK on Kotex brand (Gentle Glide maybe?) but I have been using them for as long as I can remember and I call myself a tampon snob because I don’t even want to try another kind!! LOL!

Her Happy Balance September 6, 2013 at 9:01 am

Whatever works best for you is what you gotta’ go with! 🙂

sharsti@theblondehairblueeyedrunner September 5, 2013 at 5:56 pm

One of my worst races I started right in the middle of it. It was the worst! i didn’t have anything with me, would’ve been nice to bring one in my pocket ha

Her Happy Balance September 6, 2013 at 9:02 am

Oh no! I can’t even imagine. I’m sure you were very happy to complete that race and just be done with it all.

Previous post:

Next post: