Quest Bar Review and I Need Advice!

by Her Happy Balance on February 20, 2013

First of all – Quest Bars, where have you been all of my life? Am I the only one who just recently discovered their existence about 2 months ago? I mean these things are great. Glad I came out from under my rock to give them a shot. The awesome people at Quest nutrition sent me a sample pack containing one of each flavor and as an added bonus they included protein peanut butter cups. Think Reese’s but way better for you! Here’s the lowdown on the bars:

Quest Bars

Pros:

  • Gluten-free! Holla’ at meΒ gluten-free friends! Yes, I did just say that.Β 
  • 20 grams of protein in each bar (that beats the crap out of most other protein bars) and the main ingredient is whey.
  • Each bar contains about 17-18 grams of dietary fiber.
  • Because of the high fiber counts, these bars end up really low in carbs – only 4g of active carbs that come from nuts (not sugars)!
  • Lots of fun flavor options including Banana Nut Muffin and Strawberry Cheesecake.
  • They actually taste good! I particularly liked the chocolate flavors.

Cons:

  • The texture isn’t what I was expecting. You can tell there is definitely a ton of fiber in these babies. That being said, the texture isn’t bad by any means, just different.
  • A box of 12 bars retails for $24.99 or about $2.08 per bar. Compared to the price of other protein bars, this really isn’t too bad but may be a bit too steep for some.
  • The bars aren’t sold in every vitamin/health food store, so you have to be on the look out for them or purchase them online. I’ve found them for sale at the Nutrishop near me.

And on a completely random note, anyone know of any good 5k training plans? I’ve been looking into a few online. But, preferably, I don’t want to have to pay for it. And I would rather it not include tons of walking, I just wanna run people!

running quote

*I was given these bars to try, all thoughts and opinions are my own*

Thoughts??

Whats your favorite Quest bar flavor?

5k running plans?

Comments on this entry are closed.

jsresults February 20, 2013 at 7:40 am

I absolutely positively love Quest Bars. I feel the exact same way with your critiques. I could easily eat one every day πŸ™‚

I terms of the 5k training, whenever I prep for one I just bust out 3.5 miles 3 times a week with a 5 mile run the days in between.

Great post!

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:10 am

That’s good advice. I was thinking of doing something similar to that, consistently run a 5k+ 3 times a week sounds good. Thank you πŸ™‚

Tiny n Fit February 20, 2013 at 8:05 am

This website http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_4/146.shtml has plans for beginner to advanced to competitive. This site http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/ is the infamous couch to 5k plan. I think Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers has good running tips, too.

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:11 am

Ooo I will definitely check out her blog and look for some sort of intermediate plan, thanks, Krista!

allisonhayes91 February 20, 2013 at 9:21 am

Check out Hal Higdon’s plans if you’re looking for a set schedule!

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:15 am

Thank you I definitely will do that!

pickyrunner February 20, 2013 at 8:22 am

I feel like I’m the only person in the blog world that absolutely HATES quest bars. I feel like they taste like play-dough. Maybe that’s just me though. As for a 5K plan… just run. You have to build up about 1/4 mile at a time or you can do it by the minutes added (an extra couple minutes every 4 days or something). It doesn’t require much training though. Just make sure you’re able to run at least 4 miles before the race itself and you’ll be fine!

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:12 am

Oh no, that makes me sad! haha Oh well, you can’t like everything! And okay, I’ll work on continuing to build up my distance a 1/4 mile at a time. Thanks πŸ™‚

jenncoleman February 20, 2013 at 8:34 am

You should check if there are any running clubs in your area.

Also, how do you get all these free samples?

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:13 am

haha I either talk to companies or they contact me and they send me their product in exchange for my review on the blog. And I will definitely look into a running club, good point!

kloesampson February 20, 2013 at 9:13 am

Wow, I literally just spoke to quest nutrition about sending some bars my way to try out, so now I’m just patiently/excitedly awaiting their arrival πŸ™‚
I’ve heard great things about the bars!

my favourite flavor I know for a fact will be anything peanut butter or chocolate, I can tell you that much!

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:15 am

The anticipation of knowing something is coming your way in the mail drives me insane (in a good way!). I hope you like them πŸ™‚

I haven’t had a chance to try the peanut butter ones yet, but so far I haven’t found one that I don’t like!

Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen February 20, 2013 at 9:34 am

Ah a healthy version of reeces? Sounds awesome! I’ve never heard of these bars but they sound good!

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:15 am

Right?! I was sold when I tried those!

Andrea @Pencils and Pancakes February 20, 2013 at 9:56 am

What’s the sugar content on the Quest bars? That’s what gets me about most of these bars….they’re loaded with sugar.

Her Happy Balance February 20, 2013 at 10:00 am

Only 1g of sugar! It’s really not bad at all πŸ™‚

Andrea @Pencils and Pancakes February 20, 2013 at 10:06 am

Wooooooah! That’s amazing. I’ll try these out when I’m done the Whole 30.

Alex @ therunwithin February 20, 2013 at 9:57 am

Nope, just discovered these and I am in love. I can’t find them near me though and they are kind of pricey but boy do I adore them. I need to start saving just to buy more.

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:16 am

I feel ya, girl. I’m such a cheapskate sometimes and health food is always expensive!

genext13 February 20, 2013 at 10:23 am

Go read ChiRunning by Danny Dreyer and Marathon! by Jeff Galloway for running plans and everything else running.
There are bars I got at The Vitamin Shoppe that are completely vegan with no added sugar that have good taste. I looked on their website but did not see them. Whey is ok, but animal proteins are not the best source for you. I got some but I don’t remember what they are called, I will get back to you on that.

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:22 am

Okay, I’d definitely be interested in checking out this bar, let me know! And I am always looking for a good book, thanks those sound very helpful. I’ll scope them out this weekend!

genext13 February 26, 2013 at 9:43 am

I am not sure what bars you have tried but I found my stash and I have several bars that are vegan protein bars. I have yet to try them all but I can let you know how they are. Zing bars (13g), Vega Sport (15g), and NuGo Slim (16g). I will probably post about them in about a week (I am in the middle of a juice fast right now).

Flake And Cake February 20, 2013 at 10:39 am

I don’t think you can buy Quest over here in the UK but I’m intrigued to give them a go!

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:22 am

Hmm..I’m not sure. Maybe check out their website and see if they’d deliver them over there, but yes they’re pretty good πŸ™‚

Runner Girl Eats February 20, 2013 at 12:13 pm

I would just run and slowly increase your distance (by quarter to half mile at a time). Also, I really like doing interval work once a week when prepping for 5ks

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:26 am

Good advice, I’ll definitely work some interval work into my schedule. Thank you!

Running In Heels February 20, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Protein PB cups?!? I absolutely need to try this company!

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:27 am

I brought them in for my afternoon snack today. Can’t wait til 3pm!! haha

thedancingrunner February 20, 2013 at 11:27 am

The C25K plan- worth looking into
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Hal Higdon is also another excellent online resource to look up. Whatever you do my advice is to start out slowly and ramp your miles up. Go at your own pace and build from there. You will be hooked and signing up for races before you know it!

I would also look into running clubs in your area…great way to stay accountable and make some like-minded friends.

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:25 am

I will definitely look into Hal Higdon’s plans, thank you! I really do enjoy running, I just get so nervous about races, there really isn’t a good reason why. So I think I’ll just really focus on running more and more to rid myself of the “I can’t do this” fear. And the running club is a great idea too, thanks so much girl!

Maureen February 20, 2013 at 11:58 am

The Couch 2 5K plan is a good one, but it does have a fair amount of walking int he beginning. Runners’ World Smart Coach is a good option. The have free plans as well as paid ones.

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:26 am

Okay that’s good to know. I was looking at Runner’s World and I only saw the paid plans and I was like yeah not gonna happen haha I’ll look for the freebies now πŸ™‚

Jenny February 20, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Couch to 5km is great for a new runner! But for me it goes a little too slow. Like other people have suggested, look into finding a 5km running group in your area!

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:27 am

Thanks, Jenny! I think I’ll look into a running club then πŸ™‚

Brittany February 20, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Well it looks as if everyone else already touched on the running tips..I second most of these. Just getting out and running a few times a week is really all you need. 2-4 miles perhaps. Or even 2milers twice a week, and a 3miler one day. That last 0.1 mi will be nothing.

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:29 am

Thanks, Brittany. I’m loving everyone’s input. I’m going to try and concentrate on getting outside for my runs more. I think I’m too used to the treadmill.

The Cookie ChRUNicles February 20, 2013 at 2:58 pm

I have never tried a Quest bar, I am not a big bar eater, I do have KIND bars in my pantry though in case of an emergency snack situation…as for 5K plans, I tend to not follow set training plans and go with how I feel. I have found the more I run, the better my endurance and the faster I seem to get. Do you incorporate speed work into your weekly exercise routine? I would recommend a few different runs as part of your weekly routine including an easy run, a long run and an interval run (speedwork). All of these combined have helped me with endurance and ability to run faster. Hope this helps!

Her Happy Balance February 21, 2013 at 9:31 am

I do plan on incorporating more speed work into my workouts. I have been running kind of like you, I just hop on the treadmill and go the pace and distance I want to go. Sometimes I’ll crank up the pace and sometimes I’ll take it easy. I like the idea of having different types of runs. I will work on that! πŸ™‚ Thank you!

Previous post:

Next post: