Skoop B-Strong Protein Review & Giveaway!

by Her Happy Balance on October 14, 2014

A few weeks back I was contacted by Healthy Skoop to try their protein powder. I tend to be kind of picky about my protein powders, so I was a bit skeptical as to whether or not I’d really like the powder. I received a package a few days later to start taste testing! The first thing I noticed was that the package was super heavy – the bag of protein powder they sent me was really big! This was a serious pro in my book because protein powder can be kind of spendy and it was nice to know that a typical package of Skoop B-Strong protein would last me for a good, long while before running out.

B-Strong Protein Review

Skoop B-Strong is different from other protein powders for numerous reasons. First, it is a plant-based protein made up of pea protein isolate and brown rice protein. Each serving is 160 calories and 16g of protein. In addition to the protein factors, Skoop B-Strong contains lots of other healthy ingredients like BCAA’s, olive oil, sunflower oil, flax seed, pomegranate, grape seed and grape skin as well as fructooligosaccharide. These additives help add omega 3s, vitamin E, and antioxidant polyphenols to the protein blend. The fructooligosaccharide is especially unique. It is a prebiotic fiber which can make it past the first step of digestion (it resists the stomach’s acidity) and get to the lower GI where it helps support healthy digestion and absorption.

Healthy Skoop Blender Bottle

But what about taste?  So, I like to cook with protein powder sometimes, but on a day-to-day basis my protein powder has to taste good in water. Protein shakes are the most convenient option for me. I’ve tried plant-based proteins before and they were chunky and super chalky, pretty much unpalatable. I have to give Healthy Skoop credit for having a protein powder that dissolves well. There’s nothing worse than powdery chunks of protein that won’t go into solution. It was still a bit chalkier than whey proteins, but the vanilla flavor was enjoyable and the powder performed better overall in comparison to the other plant proteins I’ve tried. 

Skoop banana protein shake

When I blended the Skoop B-Strong with 2% milk instead of water, the chalkiness virtually vanished. Add in a banana, some ice, and a sprinkle of cinnamon and it’s pretty much a healthy milkshake 🙂 And for every serving of Skoop product bought, Healthy Skoop donates a serving of fruits or veggies to a school lunch program. A protein that builds muscles and helps encourage healthy habits in kids sounds good to me.

B-strong giveaway

One lucky HHB reader will win a package of Skoop B-Strong protein and a blender bottle to give Healthy Skoop a try. Just enter using the widget below! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

You can connect with Healthy Skoop on Twitter, Instagram, and through their blog.

Thoughts??
When do you use protein powder? Usually after a workout or as a meal substitute.
Have you ever tried baking with protein powder?

FTC: I received product for review purposes, no other compensation was provided. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Nikki October 14, 2014 at 7:20 am

I’ve heard good things about Skoop! Would love to try it!

Stacie @ SimplySouthernStacie October 14, 2014 at 7:28 am

I love Skoop! Their protein powder does dissolve so easily compared to other plant based powders and really just preteen powders in general!

Ellen Casper October 14, 2014 at 9:13 am

I’ve never tried this protein powder and I’d like to.

Shayna October 14, 2014 at 9:39 am

I am always interested in finding a protein powder that tastes great and I like that Skoop gives back too 🙂

Mary Beth Jackson October 14, 2014 at 9:54 am

I like to add protein powder to my pancake or waffle mix 🙂

Hannah @ CleanEatingVeggieGirl October 14, 2014 at 11:27 am

I want to win because I only use plant-based protein powders and I am excited to try out a new brand!

Meredith N. October 14, 2014 at 11:45 am

This is the second time this week that I’ve heard good things about Skoop. I am definitely interested in trying it out!

Tal October 14, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Winning is fun!

Mandy October 14, 2014 at 1:14 pm

I always love trying new plant based protein powders!

Paige C October 14, 2014 at 1:37 pm

this sounds like a great protein power and so versatile!

Rachel @ Undercover Diva: A Sitcom October 14, 2014 at 2:28 pm

I want to win because I’ve been having meals made for me lately and I don’t think I’ve been getting enough protein!! (I’d have it sent to my mom first and then I’d have her send it to me:) )

Lisa @ Life as Lisa Knows It October 14, 2014 at 6:35 pm

This sounds like a great protein and I would love to try it!!

Renata October 15, 2014 at 7:59 am

I need to add more protein in my diet to keep my weight goals in check! Thank you as Skoop sounds delicious!

Deborah October 15, 2014 at 8:06 am

I want to win because I haven’t heard of this before and I’d like to try it!

Thank you for hosting the giveaway!

Sue @ This Mama Runs for Cupcakes October 15, 2014 at 8:22 am

I love Skoop protein powder and I love that it tastes so good!!

Anastasia H October 15, 2014 at 9:35 am

I’ve always wanted to try protein powder and shakeology is insanely expensive. I like the idea of the plant based with Skoop.

Ginger Harper October 15, 2014 at 9:50 am

I love trying new proteins!

Katy October 15, 2014 at 10:08 am

I love Skoop, it tastes awesome and I would love to win some!

Annmarie October 15, 2014 at 10:14 am

I love Skoop!!!

Heather @Fit N Cookies October 15, 2014 at 11:08 am

I’ve heard great things about this protein powder!

Katrina J October 15, 2014 at 11:29 am

I want to win because I love protein shakes!! Helps me stay on track 🙂

Tessa October 15, 2014 at 12:59 pm

i love trying new products!!

Khaleef @ Fat Guy, Skinny Wallet October 15, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Because I need a lot of protein in my diet, and having it in this form would make it easy to take in.

Angie October 15, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I would love to win so I could use something to help me get my health back, and help me loos weight to before my military hubby comes home, and surprise him with a new me. 🙂

Amy Lauren October 15, 2014 at 9:06 pm

I’d love to win and try this after my BodyPump workouts. I don’t eat meat, so I drink protein shakes to make sure I get enough after strength training.

Georgiana October 15, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Skoop sounds so nutritious that I would love to try it for an energizing breakfast to start my day!

Jordan October 15, 2014 at 10:35 pm

I’ve heard awesome reviews on Skoop and haven’t been able to locate it in stores in my area, so I’d love to win the giveaway to have a chance to try it for myself 🙂

Madelyn Moon October 16, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Hi Jordan,

My name is Madelyn and I do the PR at Skoop! I just wanted to let you know that we’re actually not sold in any big grocers or stores, only small retailers. We have a “one for one” nonprofit partnership, where for every time YOU Skoop, one serving of fresh produce is given to a student at school! In order to be able to donate this amount of money, we have chosen a direct sales approach (not MLM!). You can find us online and as we grow, we will be in more gyms and retailers in the future! Let us know if you have any questions at all!

Brittany @ Barr & Table October 15, 2014 at 10:52 pm

I’d love to win because I’ve only had a small sample of Skoop and absolutely loved it!

Sharon October 16, 2014 at 8:14 pm

I haven’t tried Skoop and would love to try it. I like that it is plant based!

Lora @ Crazy Running Girl October 16, 2014 at 10:21 pm

I have heard amazing stuff about this! I want to try it really bad!

Sarah T October 16, 2014 at 10:34 pm

I love Skoop A-Game so I know I’d love their protein powder too. I haven’t used protein powder much but would love to start!

Kristen October 17, 2014 at 6:58 pm

I use so much protein powder- I’d love to try a new kind.

Tanya Baker Cameron October 18, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Why do I want to win? Because I already use SKOOP daily and I love this stuff! My favorite way to drink it is with Unsweetened Almond Milk, frozen raspberries, blue berries or blackberries, a banana AND I add a scoop of A-Game Sweetgreens ( another amazing SKOOP product that adds the equivalent of 10 servings of fruits and vegetables)!!! Delicious and oh so good for me! It definitely helps me “Get my Super On”!!!

Isaiah October 19, 2014 at 8:09 am

I like protein and apples

Cheryl October 20, 2014 at 3:07 pm

I have heard wonderful things about Skoop! I hope I get to try it!!!

meredith @ The Cookie ChRUNicles October 20, 2014 at 3:46 pm

I don’t usually like or use protein powders but I am a big fan of Skoop products!

Kelsey October 20, 2014 at 7:54 pm

I’d love to win because I am running out of protein! I would love to try a new one! thanks for the chance!

Lisa January 19, 2015 at 1:41 am

I hope I’m picked to try it!! I love trying new things that are healthy and good for you, let alone free to try!!

Previous post:

Next post: