SLS3 Compression Sock Review and Giveaway!

by Her Happy Balance on July 24, 2013

I think I’ve made it pretty clear that one of my favorite parts of working out is all the really cute gear that goes along with it. One of my fitness mottos is if you look the part, you are more likely to act the part! That goes for me anyway 🙂 One of my newest finds is SLS3 compression socks. These socks were developed and tested by two pro triathletes. Now besides being a great recovery tool for your body, they look adorable! I mean come on, they have butterflies on them…sold! So here’s the skinny on these socks-

My new friends :)

My new friends 🙂

“SLS3 Butterfly compression socks boost bloodflow by about 34%. This increases oxygen delivery to the working muscles to enhance their performance. The circulation improvements also help the body eliminate metabolic waste products like lactic acid more easily.
The combination of these effects allows you to work longer and harder, delaying the onset of fatigue.” -SLS3

Pros:

  • 20-30mmHG of graduated compression; the compression is strongest at the ankles and decreases as you move up towards the knees (make no mistake, these babies are super tight!)
  • Helps increase bloodflow
  • Web knit to help support the arch of your foot
  • The fabric breathes for a cooling effect on your legs
  • Machine Washable, just make sure not to put them in the dryer…let your socks hang 10 and dry that way 😉
  • The sizing of these socks is not only based off of your shoe-size, but also caters to each persons calf size as well
  • For women, these socks are available in three cute colors (light blue, purple, and pink)
  • Great for athletes as well as nurses and those in professions that require being on their feet for extended periods of time
    Oh, you know, just hanging out in my bath robe and rocking some compression socks after a run...the usual...

    Oh, you know, just hanging out in my bath robe and rocking some compression socks after a run…the usual…

    Cons:

  • You have to view these socks as an investment in your health and fitness, as they are a bit pricey ($54.90/pair)
  • Currently only available online for purchase (that being said mine shipped out really quickly and they qualify for free shipping)
  • The first time I put them on required a bit of gusto, they were pretty darn tight. But after the first wear I was able to put them on more comfortably

    And now for the best part, the kind people at SLS3 have agreed to give one lucky HHB reader a pair of their own compression socks, just enter below! And good luck 🙂

    a Rafflecopter giveaway

    FTC: I received the SLS3 compression socks free for review, as usual all thoughts and opinions are my own.

    Thoughts??

  • Comments on this entry are closed.

    Christine@ Apple of My Eye July 24, 2013 at 7:59 am

    I would wear them everywhere! At home, to the store, on dates ;). I’ve been wanting a pair forever, but they’re a bit pricey. I want to win this giveaway so badly!

    Danielle @ It's A Harleyyy Life July 24, 2013 at 8:52 am

    after a long run

    Carrie H July 24, 2013 at 8:55 am

    I wear mine on my longs!

    Jennifer July 24, 2013 at 9:06 am

    I’m getting ready to train for my 3rd Half, so I’d wear them for recovery. Once the temps drop, I’d wear them on long runs.

    Darlena Kolpak July 24, 2013 at 9:08 am

    I love the butterflies, I would wear them on my long runs

    meredith July 24, 2013 at 9:10 am

    Those blue ones are pretty!

    jennifer July 24, 2013 at 9:17 am

    I just received the same pink butterfly socks myself and they are so comfortable! My only issue with them is that I have some fat upper calves so the pretty butterflies get a bit distorted.. but what can you do! 😉

    I’ve been wearing my compression socks after my Saturday morning runs; been starting to train for a half marathon!!

    First time visiting your blog, btw, and it’s so super cute!

    Holly @ EatGreatBEGreat July 24, 2013 at 9:21 am

    Compression socks are amazing! I just bought a pair and have been using them after my Zumba classes. Love them!

    Shay @ Whine Less, Breathe More July 24, 2013 at 9:26 am

    I wear mine whenever my legs feel a little tight. And especially after running stadium stairs!

    Becky @ Olives n Wine July 24, 2013 at 10:18 am

    Oooh these are so pretty! I struggle getting all compression socks over my calves. I honestly just think I have man legs 😉 Haha!

    Laurel C July 24, 2013 at 10:22 am

    I LOVE compression gear! I wear my socks for every run!

    carlisa July 24, 2013 at 10:42 am

    I would wear these in all of my workouts!

    Runner Girl Eats July 24, 2013 at 10:43 am

    I love wearing compression socks after a tough run!

    Lauren July 24, 2013 at 10:47 am

    I would wear these socks just lounging around my house! 😀

    Davida @ the Healthy Maven July 24, 2013 at 10:50 am

    I love the light blue ones! Have been wanting to try compression socks for so long!

    Angela @ Health's Angel July 24, 2013 at 11:13 am

    These are SO cute. I would kill for a pair of those at this very moment. My calves are sore as heck after a tough spin class yesterday!

    Natalie July 24, 2013 at 11:23 am

    I would wear them on my long runs.

    Brittany July 24, 2013 at 11:48 am

    AHHhaha these are so cute with the butterflys.! I am much more of a plain jane though and went for basic black compression socks. Even the neon ones are just too loud for me.

    Amy July 24, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    After my long runs

    Jeffrey July 24, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    I’d wear them on my long runs and for post workout recovery.

    Sarah S July 24, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    I love the purple ones and would wear them after a long run

    Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen July 24, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    I would wear these for my runs outside. Awesome giveaway!

    Courtney A July 24, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    I would wear mine during runs longer than 2 hours and for several hours after long workouts for recovery.

    Carli July 24, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    I have some races in September to wear them outside but until then I tend to wear them overnight when my calves are sore.

    Jeremy July 24, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    I hope I win!

    Lesli K July 24, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    I’d wear them after long runs! 🙂

    FitBritt@MyOwnBalance July 24, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    I like to say I have all the gear and no idea(r) when it comes ot fitness! 🙂 I probably would wear these after cycling!

    Caitlin July 24, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    If I win them, I’ll use them after my long runs 😛

    Roger July 24, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    I’d where them everywhere. Sweet colours.

    Jennifer Davis July 24, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    I would wear them at night. I bet they would help with my restless legs..

    Cynthia @ You Signed Up For What?! July 24, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    I haven’t tried compression socks yet, but have been wanting to. I’d wear them for a run to see how they feel, but definitely after longer runs.

    Debbie @ Healthy Running Mom July 25, 2013 at 6:16 am

    I’d weat them during & after runs.

    JILL @MRScrashmattb July 25, 2013 at 9:24 am

    I really like wearing my socks to bed, and around the house. During colder months, I’ll wear them under my pants.

    Charlotte @ Commitness to Fitness July 25, 2013 at 11:53 am

    those are cute!! i really like both colors! and i knowww- “if you look the part you’ll act the part” is SO true in my opinion also.

    Dani July 26, 2013 at 12:58 am

    I wear compression socks whenever I do a medium to long run, when I fly, and when I take long car trips.

    Betina July 26, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    I would wear them at work!

    Ben July 28, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    I’d wear them on long runs and for recovery.

    Nori S July 28, 2013 at 2:29 pm

    I would wear the compression socks on long runs or after tough WODs.

    Cassie July 28, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Recovery!

    Ramona S July 29, 2013 at 10:40 am

    if I win, I would wear them for recovery.

    Erin July 29, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try a pair of compression socks but they’re always so pricey! I’d wear them after a long run!

    Seth July 29, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    Wear ’em after running and training.

    Lori B July 30, 2013 at 11:34 am

    I would wear them for my runs!!

    DisneyBride July 30, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    I wear my compression socks for long runs and recovery days. Thanks for doing this giveaway. I’ve always wondered who made the butterfly compression socks! 🙂

    Jill July 30, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    I would wear them during my runs to help with my shin splints!

    Rachel July 30, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    I just recently started wearing compression socks — I wear mine during the day and then during my run and awhile after for recovery. I LOVE THEM!

    { 1 trackback }

    Previous post:

    Next post: