What’s in that box?! Kona Kase Review

by Her Happy Balance on August 1, 2013

What can I say, I am a complete sucker for monthly subscription boxes! I’ve tried out Bulu Box, Conscious Box, and Birchbox to name a few. Sometimes I love the contents of the box, other times not so much. I think I spent a solid month around the holidays researching subscription boxes to give as gifts. One box I didn’t stumble upon then, but recently heard about through the Sweatpink ambassadors is Kona Kase. It is a monthly subscription box for $15 each month that is filled with healthy snacks and supplements. Here’s what I got in my box:

Kona Kase

Enjoy Life Seed & Fruit Mix – It was a mix of dried pineapple, dried cranberries, dried apricots, sunflower seeds, and pumpkin seeds. I really thought I would like this, but it was just too sweet! I won’t be purchasing this.

Turkey Perky Jerky – Turkey jerky flavored with guarana for energy. I’m on the fence about this because it tasted good, however I think the guarana may have given me a headache.

Body Glove Surge Energy Gel – I recieved a double espresso flavored gel, and since I’m not a coffee person I gave this sample away to a coffeeholic. They said that is was “okay tasting.”

Health Warrior Chia Bar in Acai Berry – This was a 100 calorie bar that tasted really good, but was pretty darn small. It really was jam-packed with chia seeds though, so I would consider keeping a few of these around for a small snack.

Chia Bar

PROBAR Bolt in Orange – organic energy chews. I haven’t had a chance to try these just yet, but I love the idea of all the ingredients being organic and gluten-free.

Garukabar – Snack bar made with only 8 ingredients, including raw Vermont honey and 1% of all profits goes towards gorilla conservation. This was by far my favorite product in the box, it tasted AMAZING and the packaging was 100% recyclable.

Barbara Llewellyn Granola – All the ingredients sound great (pecans, white sesame seeds, sliced almonds, etc.) so I think I’ll put this in my morning oats, but I am having a really tough time finding any further info about it online.

Caveman Cookies – Cookies made only with honey, nuts, and fruit. The taste was pretty good, I could definitely taste the honey. I liked that they were individually wrapped and a little chewy.

Caveman Cookie

Overall, the box was definitely filled with nicely sized samples, but I wasn’t a huge fan of all the products in there. It does seem to be worth the price, but I just don’t think I would actually purchase this box myself. It’s always fun to try, though 🙂

FTC: I recieved this box through Fit Approach to sample and review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Thoughts??

Have you ever tried Kona Kase?

If you could, what kind of sample box would you create? I’m thinking a sushi sample box. Can you tell I’m still craving sushi??

Comments on this entry are closed.

meredith August 1, 2013 at 8:13 am

I haven’t tried this box but I have had the Bestowed box. I think they are so fun and perfect gifts but not so sure I would send to myself. I would love Edible Arrangements boxes though sent to me monthly – I am a sucker for chocolate dipped fruit and hey, at least it is healthy (for the most part).

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:25 am

I have only ever bought other people edible arrangements…I want one sent to me! Haha 🙂

Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures August 1, 2013 at 9:38 am

I am not so much a box lover… It is too much effort to try every little thing and it disrupts my incredibly monotonous lifestyle. Ha!
That cookie looks wonderful at the bottom. Did it taste anything like those Honey Stinger waffles I won?? Those things were way too good and I killed that box in about 1 week. By myself. #noshame
You’re craving sushi you cutie!! I wish I could scoop you up and we could go (but didn’t you just have an entire weekend of sushi?) binge on sushi together. Yummy yummy. I can never have enough of the stuff.
If I could create a box it would come with workout clothes, of course. And shoes to sample. 🙂
LOVEEEE YOU have a fabulous day!

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:40 am

That is oddly true, it takes me extra effort to remember to grab that random bar I was sent in a box to bring it to work. However, my love of receiving mail outweighs my disinterest in exerting effort. So boxes are okay. The caveman cookie tasted really honey-y. It was okay, but I’d opt for a different flavor, maybe something resembling cookie butter..or just cookie butter. Confession, I bought another jar. So far I’ve been eating it with my finger because I’m a classy bitch.

SUSHI, SUSHI, SUSHI!!! I actually had it for lunch yesterday to try and stifle the craving…but it no work! Need more. I actually just want some straight up slabs of raw fish and globs of wasabi. I’m sure most normal crave those things.

Love you MORE! xo! 🙂

Charlotte @ Commitness to Fitness August 1, 2013 at 9:47 am

i’ve never really gotten in to the box thing. but now i feel like im missing out!! hmm a box i could create- hmmm… i gotta go with the gummy box. gummy bears, sour patch kids, sour worms, gummy worms, those sour straw things 🙂 (can you tell im craving sugar)

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:26 am

I am all about getting some gummys in the mail, I just have to request no sour gummys. Perhaps I am a weirdo, but the sour stuff makes my tongue hurt!

Holly @ EatGreatBEGreat August 1, 2013 at 9:48 am

So, I’ve never tried Kona Kase, but I’ve heard lots of good things about it; although, I’m sure every month is going to be hit or miss. I’ve always wanted to try those Healthy Warrior bars. They look so good!

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:41 am

The bar was very tasty, and a little chewy because of the gummy chia seeds. I think I’d prefer the peanut butter flavor more though.

Chelsea @ LittleOneRuns August 1, 2013 at 10:18 am

Love the brand Enjoy Life! They have the best chocolate chips. That chia bar looks good! The size of it would probably make me shed a tear though, but hey, it wouldn’t be 100 calories if it was bigger(I’d totally be cool with that though). Caveman Cookies sound good :). I would probably make a box filled with either different flavored Paleo Cookies or different granola bars lol my two favorite things.

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:41 am

I will be your first customer if you create a paleo cookie box! 🙂 Sign me up, please! haha

kathy @ vodka and soda August 1, 2013 at 11:08 am

i’ve never signed up for a monthly box although when the glymm and birch box exploded onto the scene, i was very intrigued!

i wish they had a monthly technology box, where they send out new gadgets to fiddle with every month!

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:42 am

That’s such a good idea! I am not very technology savvy, so I bet a gadgets box could help bring me up to the 21st century 🙂

Paige@FitNotFad August 1, 2013 at 12:00 pm

I am OBSESSED with subscription boxes! I’ve done Birchbox, Barkbox, Naturebox, Stitchfix and my favorite, KlutchClub! I keep hearing about Kona Kase and it looks VERY similar to KlutchClub! If you liked this one you should definitely check out KC too….great healthy treats and snacks 🙂

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:43 am

Girl, me too!! I think it stems form my desire to constantly receive snail mail combined with my love for random new products. I’ve heard about KlutchClub and the boxes look like they’re definitely loaded up with great products, I may have to explore it a little further…;)

Nicole @ Fruitnfitness August 1, 2013 at 12:08 pm

I haven’t tried any of these boxes or any of the items in the box. It sounds like a fun way to try new products though. I’m always excite to try new products !

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:44 am

I am such a sucker for mail. That’s one of the main reasons I try the boxes out 🙂

Jess @ JessieBear What Will You Wear? August 1, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Those little cookies look great! I love honey so that sounds right up my alley!

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:44 am

They were honey coconut cookies…almost like a paleo macaroon!

Becky @ Olives n Wine August 1, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Haha – a sushi sample box – LOVE IT!! I was supposed to get a Kona Kase months ago through FitApproach but they never sent it. Not a great impression of the company! You do look like you got some great goodies though but I agree, probably not worth the $$!

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:45 am

Ditto. Like it legitimately took them MONTHS to get this box to me. Oh well, it was fun to sample and they filled it pretty nicely, but they weren’t my top choices for products.

Sarah @ Sweet Miles August 1, 2013 at 3:46 pm

I’m thinking I should check into this! Look how amazing all of those snacks look, it’s like an REI store in a box!

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:46 am

It’s great when I don’t have any of my normal snacks hanging around the house, then I just grab some random sample from the box and give it a go! Really great if you want to try a product, but not commit to a full size 😉

Beth Sheridan (Sugar Coated Sheridan) August 1, 2013 at 9:57 pm

I tried Bulu Box (and this month was my first) and I kinda felt the same way about it. There were only like 2 things in the box that I really liked and everything else was just kinda okay, or I couldn’t eat it. I think I may try something else soon 🙂

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:47 am

I’ve been getting Bulu Box since December I think. It’s hit or miss. Sometimes I never use the samples, other times they’re all gone in a week. The most recent box was not all that great, I agree. Here’s hoping August’s box is better for you!

Christine@ Apple of My Eye August 2, 2013 at 2:03 am

I’ve never tried a subscription box before, but they look like SO much fun! I think if I were to design my own, I would just have it filled with different types of chocolate. *drool*

Her Happy Balance August 2, 2013 at 10:48 am

One of the best parts is getting exciting because there is a package for you in the mail. It makes my day 🙂 You know what, there may actually be a chocolate subscription box out there! I think that deserves a “Google” search 😉

Previous post:

Next post: